Gandhi on responsibility, meditation and seeking truth


Two weeks ago I was nursing a nasty virus, and my dear Dr Wang reminded me that when animals are sick, they sleep. So I did, I went home with my herbs and feeling quite listless, I went to sleep. Upon waking I thought I watch a movie on my laptop, and selected to see Gandhi. I had not seen it before. Yes, Ben Kingsley was awesome as Gandhi, and even though it was a glamorized version of this great human being, the power of the real Gandhi comes through loud and clear. It needed no glamorizing!  His ability to move masses of people through love was as clear as was incredible. He knew that the thoughts he thought,and the emotions he felt affected the world around him. So , he felt love, a deep abiding love for all. His firm conviction that peace begets peace, that love begets love and that his living it and believing  it was his responsibility was the most powerful message out of Gandhi’s life and works. He learned it through the art of meditation. In the stillness he  understood that his beliefs, his behavior and his ability to embody those truths emerges when one feels unity with all. In this morning’s meditation we talked about personal responsibility. We reminded ourselves that what we do affects the fabric of humanity and the entire universe. That “when a blade of grass is cut, the whole universe quivers” (The Upanishads). We reminded ourselves why we meditate, why we love the silence, in Gandhi’s own words…
 
 “In the attitude of silence the soul finds the path in a clearer light, and what is elusive and deceptive resolves itself into crystal clearness. Our life is a long and arduous quest after Truth.”
 
So, today reflect on what you feel and take full responsibility for your feelings and emotions. Keep on practicing  because what we do, think and feel ripples beyond our minds and affects everything. Keep on practicing, it works!

 

Thank you Dale Donelly for the wonderful Mahatma Gandhi quote.
Dale is a member of the morning meditation group at http://www.blitztime.com and she is a relationship manager and representative for SendOutCards. You can reach Dale @, daledonelly@cox.net
 
2 thoughts on “Gandhi on responsibility, meditation and seeking truth

  1. Lidia,

    How I wish I could attend a practice with your community. Sounds almost too good to be true.
    I will keep my “awareness” at a high frequency, and maybe I’ll stumble onto one here in the Philadelphia area.

    Nice read. like snuggling up to a cozy warm fire visiting this site.

    Michael J

  2. Michael,
    Thank you for your wonderful comments. Yes, I wish you could join us too, along with the fire!

    I lead a meditation every morning from 7:00-7:30 AM Est on the phone through http://www.blitztime.com.

    Tonight in the in-person group we are showing a PBS show with Wayne Dyer and discussion about his latest book Excuses be-Gone!Let you know how it goes later.

    I enjoyed your blog as well. I will comment in it soon, as it is appropriate.Say Hi to Philly ;=)
    Lidia

Leave a Reply

