Manifesting Your Dreams Requires Artless Grace and Absence of Inner Conflict


MakingFriendsWithMyPast_LidiaKenigScher
Making Friends With My Past by Lidia Kenig Scher © 2013

“Compare the serene and simple splendor of a rose in bloom with the tensions and restlessness of your life. The rose has a gift that you lack; it is perfectly content to be itself. It has not been programmed from birth, as you have been, to be dissatisfied with itself, so it has not the slightest urge to be anything other than it is. That is why it possesses the artless grace and absence of inner conflict that among humans is only found in little children and mystics.” Anthony DeMello

Today is my birthday and just like any other milestone we choose to check on our lives’ progress, on our goals, on our accomplishments, or on any other thought construct we use to tell ourselves if we are OK or not; today I too reflect and decided that I am either a child, a mystic or both and…doing quite well!

You may ask about the resolutions and goals I made and the standards I used to measure my success. I will tell you that I had put forth just one resolution; to be in Peace. My goals to achieve this dream were to trust Spirit and my inner connection to it for timing; to appreciate who I am, the life I live and its blissful and graceful flow, and to be helpful to others by sharing the best of me; my love, my skills and my talents so that others may realize the best in themselves.

The candy box I created sometime last year started the process. I went into the studio to first make friends with my past. A chocolate box I received from a wonderful and gentle man with whom I shared brief yet precious moments created the base. It is crowned by the one shoe left after a magical snowy revelry where I lost the pair in the company of another lovely man who made deep imprints in my heart. Inside the shoe is a silk tulip crowned by a single red rose and a silk ribbon.The tulip was part of a painting I created a few years back that brought untold rewards at many levels. The rose is a reminder that I am “perfectly content to be [my]self” and the ribbon is a symbol of the gifts of deep love and the lessons I shared and received from all. All over the box, are little people joyously playing in a field of gold, and glitter, hinting at the magic brought in by all those who still are or were part of my journey.

The box is the visual measure of my success. In its heart shape I see that my own heart is in peace and at Peace. I made lavish friends with my history and released its neat folds from determining who I am and what I can create in my present and future. I see every day as the empty candy box, that I am free to fill with the sweet life I choose. I notice who comes into my sparkly vibrational field and through the practice of meditation, I am able to assess beyond the shine and the glitter, to course correct in this moment. I allow the future to unfold by fiercely staying in the present. I trust that, like when I create a new painting, all that I need and all I do on this day and tomorrow will simply unfold before my very eyes. I am never lonely, yet I spend meaningful times alone. “ I don’t have the slightest urge to be anything other than [who I am]”.

I am grateful for my precious son, and my amazing grandson. I love my smart and creative sisters, my brother (Tim stopped being an “in-law” long ago by the sheer grace he brings to my life), my three dazzling nieces, and my nephews who each exude koolness itself. I can’t say enough about the friends who simply add joy to my life and of the wonderful clients and supporters who always show up just at the right time to keep my ideas fresh and my output high. I treasure my extended family, my students and the various angels who are always lurking in unexpected places to remind me to stay curious, creative, thankful and joyous and embody “the artless grace and absence of inner conflict that among humans is only found in little children and mystics”.

My sister Diana calls me the eternal optimist; I know I am a child of the Universe, and may even be a mystic. Feel free to partake in my optimism and celebrate life as it is. Contemplate some of the concepts I put forth here and post any comments you like. This week, please fill yourself to overflow with random feelings of love and have a ball losing one shoe or maybe both. Vibrate optimism and you too will have an absence of conflict!

Notes: The box can be seen up close in the New Works Gallery

Quote comes from The Way to Love: The Last Meditations of Anthony de Mello, 1992 Doubleday

Leave a Reply

