I Feel Exotic


I Feel Exotic by Lidia Kenig Scher
I Feel Exotic by Lidia Kenig Scher

Like many of you, I love chocolate and enjoy finding the most interesting ways to taste it. Many times I go out of my way to seek the perfect dark piece. The often wrapped-in-foil paper delicacy, is no doubt intended to make it appear both alluring and special. Some folks claim that chocolate is an aphrodisiac and others advertise the dark beans or powder as a powerful health supplement, but did you know that it has an exotic past as well?

The Mesoamerican Aztecs said that Quetzalcoatl, the feathered serpent-god brought cacao (the beans where chocolate comes from) to Earth from Paradise. Consuming chocolate was akin to taking in divine goods. I read that in the 18th century, chocolate was the preferred drink of the cardinals, and that it was served while electing a new pope. In fact, chocolate was rumored to have disguised the poison that killed Pope Clement XIV in 1774. In France, during  the 18th Century, only the royalty imbibed the precious beverage. It was rare and expensive.

Exotic history indeed! A few years ago I did a special project with the Boston Lindt chocolate store and got lots of chocolate pieces to play with. The result is a series of mixed media paintings I aptly call the Chocolate Series. I Feel Exotic is my interpretation of the mixture of folklore and the experience of consuming what many call the ultimate candy. The richly gold background provides the perfect “foil” for the “chocolate” squares, and foreign looking words bespeak of a rare provenance. In the end, I like it in this form…I take it in with all my senses!

I invite you to regale in chocolate’s interesting history by eating it with your eyes, your mind and your heart. You can get all the benefits of this precious food without gaining an ounce, by purchasing the 8″ x 8″ mixed media on wrapped canvas for yourself or as a very exotic holiday gift. Limited edition embellished giclees are also available, all for immediate delivery by clicking The Chocolate Series Gallery @ LidiaScherArt.com and have a Happy Chanukah, a Merry Christmas, a delicious holiday season and delight in all reasons to celebrate!

Leave a Reply

