Finding Treasures in the Shadows


Finding Treasures in the Shadows (c) by Lidia Kenig Scher
Finding Treasures in the Shadows (c) by Lidia Kenig Scher

The shadows…
That which follows you along
Whether you know it or not
It defines…
The rhythms of your life
It is present
In every relationship…
It controls your every move
Until you shine the Light
And accept what is there…
Pure trasures will abound
When the fear turns to courage
And you march straight on…
There is no Light without darkness
As the day turns into night
It just is…

The 30″ x 40″ acrylic on canvas was born yesterday after I looked deeply into the piles of snow in my yard. Mounds that are so high, you think you are in the Himalayas. It is so cold…and so bright. Even at night, it only takes a small light source to shine the entire landscape.
So I came into the studio and stared at the whiteness of the canvas and then…the paint, the brushes, the water, the rags, the sponges…those did the job. It was dark outdoors when I was finished, and I knew that I was OK.

I embraced my shadows and I was at peace. Maybe you can look at the painting and contemplate your shadows. What do they say? How do they define you? Can you recognize them in your job? In your home? At your friends’ pads? Can you see them as you walk about?

Click on Finding Treasures in the Shadows to see a close up of the painting and perhaps buy the original.

Let me know your thoughts…

Leave a Reply

