The Jewels Are in the Lotus


The Jewels in the Lotus by Lidia Kenig Scher
The Jewels in the Lotus by Lidia Kenig Scher (c) 2015

One of the most revered of Buddhist mantras, OM MA NI PAD ME HUM, translates as “The Jewel is in the Lotus”, to signify that as the flower with the velvety graceful petals grows out of the dark and muddy waters, so our lives can emerge as beautifully and gracefully out of our deepest and darkest troubles when we remain true to our heart’s guidance, abide in peace, practice loving kindness and compassion and live in the present moment. Thus, the “jewels”, also called the six true words come forth and radiate pure love and healing for all, starting with ourselves.

Om Mani Pad Me Hum is the mantra of Avelokitesvara, the bodhisattva of compassion. Chanting it reminds us of our intrinsic Buddha nature and that we, as the lotus, are born with a pure and loving heart. Faced with much difficulty over the last few weeks, the mantra gave me much needed peace as I meditated and focused on the syllables to help me compassionately navigate a much needed change.

I looked at fear and chanted. I felt sadness, confusion, anger and sorrow and I looked at the blank, unwrapped canvas. Sobbing I focused on my heart and saw that it is in fact pure. After the lotus was painted floating on the tranquil water, I stepped aside until my chest opened and my heart joyously sang the six true words.

A fabulous enamel called Pebeo offered the awesome textures that created the jewels in the center of the flower as well as the interesting shapes that spill above and below the lotus. Small pink crystals sit at the very heart of the jewel, while pure white soft embossed paper spirals appear to rotate endlessly portending safe transformation as they twirl about the pink blossom.

I was able to come safely out of the dark mud that shrouded me by painting what was in my heart. You may click on The Jewels Are in the Lotus to see the painting up close and wish to purchase it. You can also inquire through the website, if you are interested in purchasing blessed reproductions to help you too emerge safely and gracefully as you navigate life’s endless surprises.

May you have a lovely week!

Leave a Reply

