Abundance


Abundance by Lidia Kenig Scher
Abundance by Lidia Kenig Scher (c)

Ah…the pleasures of seating in my garden presided by a peaceful Buddha statue and surrounded by a plethora of flowers at their peak!  The scents were bewitching, the sounds simply magical as my friends and I sat sipping green tea and meditated in preparation to once again paint “en plein-air”.

As we sat facing the Buddha, we merged with the grassy carpet and felt ourselves to be blossoming as well.  It was the last Saturday in August and we knew that we would be ending our session at the exact time of the full Sturgeon moon. I invited my friends to meditate with our eyes open and focus on the Buddha’s sweet expression.

Maybe it was the moon, maybe it was the perfumed blooms, or maybe it was just that perfect moment when our chests were a little broader and our hearts were singing in perfect harmony with the wind. With our ears filled with angelic sounds, we moved toward the painting area and we each began our very personal journey to uncover what had never existed before.

I remember that the colors of the sky first appeared on my canvas and as I waited for it to dry I noticed that the gray Buddha had now absorbed the riot of hues surrounding it. It seemed on fire and appeared larger than normal. I thought he turned to me to ask what I was seeing. I replied: abundance! The resoluteness in my voice startled my friends, yet they understood. It was nature showing us what it means to live overflowing with goodness and beckoning us to experience it through our art.

Over lunch, and at the exact time of the moon’s fullness, we pondered on the titles for our pieces. In my case, Abundance seem like a perfect name for a painting bursting with every color of the rainbow, as if to remind me whenever I feel lacking, that Spirit wants me to mimic nature and live at the maximum, and to over-flowing, feeling enriched.

Then, “…your life should reach to others’, said Osho. “Your blissfulness, your benediction, your ecstasy should not be contained within you like a seed. It should open like a flower and spread its fragrance to all and sundry-not only to friends but to strangers too. This is real compassion, this is real love: sharing your enlightenment, sharing your dance of the beyond.”

Such is the name of the painting and you will find it by clicking on Abundance. Fittingly, only the very well-priced original is available to the one of you needing to feel super rich this week. I am sharing my “dance of the beyond” with you all, because I already know I AM very rich!

Lidia

2 thoughts on “Abundance

Leave a Reply

