I Live in God – No Words Are Needed


No Words Needed, Lidia Kenig, ©2012
No Words Needed by Lidia Kenig ©

In yet another week headlined by violence, mourning the loss of lives and accounts of people fiercely aligned on the opposite side of issues, peppered with plenty of vitriol and blame as bookends, I found myself questioning my purpose, doubting the value of my work and at a loss for words that could assuage my conflicting emotions.

So I resorted to what helps me quiet the noise, find my center and connect to the voice of my heart.

Through the practice of meditation I am able to embrace my feelings and allow thoughts racing through my mind to just be. I can more easily notice which clamor more attention and contemplate it as if it were happening to someone else.

When the space clears, I can look deeper to see what is reflected in the mirror of my heart.

When I looked within this week, to see what resonated with the violence, loss, anger and blame I was seeing in the world, I saw powerlessness and fear.

I felt powerless to change relationships and situations in my personal life.

And I felt powerless to change relationships and situations in the world at large.

I feared that my tools; creating art with the purest of intentions was not affecting my little circle nor the big world.

Fortunately I learned to question my assumptions and the memes these create.

I am neither powerless and nor are my tools.

The countless testimonials on how my artworks affect people and their environments, and the grateful and loving statements of my students were both easy to remember.

Yet the reason that the testimonials exist is because when I create, I am one with God.

In the face of confusion or anxiety, God is the mirror within reflecting the truth that lives in my heart.

The paintings then portray not what I originally saw;  sadness, grief, frustration, fear, or anger, but what my godly brushes transformed.

In the images, colors, and textures there is possibility, forgiveness, oneness, patience, acceptance, growth, kindness, joy and love.

Painting allows me to show others a way to wash away from the soul “the dust of everyday life”, as Picasso so eloquently said.

The “dust” is the doubts, the fears, the sadness, the frustration and the anxiety that renders us powerless.

These are the voices of the ego-mind.

Painting always elicits joy, bliss and love.

Creating is looking in the mirror of my heart and seeing divinity busy washing away “dirt”.

 “All the religions of the world have said that God is the creator, wrote Osho. “I don’t know whether he is the creator or not, but one thing I know: the more creative you become, the more godly you become…you live in God. So he must be the creator because people who have been creative have been closest to him”.

And the ancient Upanishads proclaimed that, “when a blade of grass is cut, the whole universe quivers”

When I heal myself and wash away the dust in the act of creating, and share the journey with others, through my teaching and paintings, I am closest to God and the whole universe begins to heal.

This is my purpose. I am powerful and I have powerful tools.

I live in God.

No Words are Needed.

The art is available in many formats to help you too, live in God.

Leave a Reply

