Embracing Grace


Embracing Grace by Lidia Kenig-Scher
Embracing Grace by Lidia Kenig-Scher

 

It is how I create and teach others to create. Embracing Grace is an attitude of openness to the realm of the unknown with innocence and trust. It is also a heightened state of alertness to what is there in the present moment and allows me to discern the motivations behind the choices I make.

When I paint I am fearless

Assuming total responsibility for all of my choices, I acknowledge its results with acceptance and non-judgment. The resulting artwork is an example of how lovingkindness colors—pun intended–a life situation and assists I the painter and you the viewer to examine the completed piece, apply its lesson to the particular situation and provoke growth.

When I paint I am Buddha

Each year, as part of a mastermind group, I select a theme to guide my intentions and inspire my goal setting to experience my best year yet. Even though I have been successful planning this way, I always feel that goals are restrictive and intentions are time-sensitive.

Foregoing goals I decided to apply what I learned through creating art and live my whole life with one intention: Embracing Grace.

Naturally, my buddies wanted examples of how the theme would apply to mundane experiences fraught with relationships, weather, unexpected events and the normal ups and downs of living.  I replied that by embracing grace, I perceive every moment as a gift to unwrap so that their request for an expanded perspective most likely implied that I too needed to flesh it out.

Thus I posited that if I live my entire life steeped in utter curiosity, as when I paint, I would best learn how to be a force for goodness at this time in history; my only goal.

As such, I see the timing to work on a piece or begin new art as being always perfect. Colors and technique simply show up, and whatever else I may be guided to do, I know that I will find it in the art store, or the market, on the street or in the basement.

The right numbers of students appear for a class, and the methods and techniques I need to teach are effortlessly communicated yielding amazing artwork even from people who never painted.

When not enough students enroll in a scheduled course, it most likely indicates that a change of direction is in the offing, or that this is not a good time to hold this class. Soon I am offered a new project or my participation in an auspicious event becomes possible because the class was cancelled.

It is at these times that I am able to perceive my interconnection with Spirit and how I fit in the Divine plan. I see that I am not accidental and nor is anyone else. Whatever I do, say and think at any time is important. If I were not painting, or teaching, or being with a friend, or attending to a repair person, or cooking, or walking at that moment, existence would miss me.

Osho said that a feeling of joy and fulfillment arises when we become aware that each of us is crucial for the proper functioning of the universe. It means that we are “related to existence, and existence cares for [us]… “and this gives us “dignity”.

As I was painting this weekend, I felt the hands of existence guiding me to visually portray these feelings and afterwards, in meditating with the art, I realized that by respecting my dreams and desires, assuming the responsibility to pursue them, owning my choices, and choosing how I perceive my dreams’ unfolding also means accepting how my choices affect others.

Grace is a birthright and by embracing this I lovingly trust that others are also capable of making good choices for themselves in their own time.

When I paint Grace is in charge

And in living I pause often and yield to my intuition. I take inspired action, watch what happens and monitor my thoughts to maintain alignment with my stated purpose; to be a force for goodness at this time in history.

When I paint I am blessed

When I embrace grace I live a blissful life and I am a force for goodness!

Try it for yourself; I trust that you can Embrace Grace now!

2 thoughts on “Embracing Grace

Leave a Reply

