Just Watching


Just watching by Lidia Kenig-Scher
Just Watching by Lidia Kenig-Scher

Awoke with a sense of deep sadness I could not shake in meditation.

Looking for a change in perspective, I considered driving to the beach, sit on the sand and simply watch the waves crash and kiss the sky. Taking in the sheer vastness of such spectacle, hearing the wind catch my wayward thoughts and allow them to drown in the choppy waters would surely be a powerful healing experience.

While I was eager to feel the warmth of the sun and bear witness to a new day dawning, when I pulled open the shades, out of my window I could only see thick clouds and a steady raw drizzle.

No, sitting on the cushion would not do for today, so I moved into the studio to paint what I needed to experience.

It was powerfully healing.

Alcohol inks and a white tile were on one of the tables waiting to be put away, after the past weekend’s successful workshop.

I smiled recognizing Spirit’s hand in all of it.

As I poured blue ink on the tile, I felt the whoosh of the wind and heard the roaring of the waves. When the cool morning yellow strip was in place, I began to see the sun pushing the rose and gray cloud cover away, unveiling the clear blue sky above it and lovingly warming my body.

The little red buoy gave me joy.

Nora Copeland said that “storms always lose to the sun”, a reminder that what I was feeling, albeit deeply painful now, would give way to an acceptance of what I cannot change, and provide me with the clarity to paint a new story.

While I could have gone on the web and breathed slowly while gazing at beach sunrises anywhere in the world, the experience of painting my own was indeed transformative.

The inks are very fluid and unpredictable, thus, absolute presence is required to contain and direct their flow. Every cell in my body was involved in moving the rapidly drying liquid with the tools I used to create the scene.

Such power is embedded in the art now, and when I look at it, I can affirm the new perspective, transmute the sadness and invite Love in all its colors.

Like to experience powerful healing? Catch the buoy and click on Just Watching to get it now!

Leave a Reply

