Adventures in Crumbling Structures


July 9 by Lidia Kenig
July 9 by Lidia Kenig

It was on July 9th and on my mother’s birthday that I started working on this painting. The colors showed up while I was meditating, and somehow I knew that it would become a significant creation. I completed it on July 29th, my birthday.

As I sat contemplating on a proper title, thoughts of clearing up old wounds appeared, encouraging me to identify mental habits or constructs that required change in order to further evolve into the bright beacon shining lights of love here on earth.

And I saw that the mental process easily dovetailed that of birthing the art. The painting however, showed me the attitude I needed to maintain throughout the discovery period.

When you think that our conflicting mental constructs are rooted in childhood, and if undetected, continue to affect us well into adulthood, an adventurous spirit is most useful.

The painting’s rose colored background permeates everything. It can even be seen through the grayed blue crumbling structure on the bottom. Can this be Gaia eventually rising healed and embracing a mantle of bright green growth to become whole again?

Destruction of past hurts is possible and even liberating.

Pink colored skies are hard to ignore and even harder to not cause feelings of wonderment. It helped me understand that exploring old wounds was best done with the same demeanor.

Gaia, the benevolent looking shape on the right appears to carelessly utter playful sounds into the pink space. These melodies merge with the warm sunlight streaming down to help heal the cracks on the bottom.

Mother Earth seems aware of the activity, yet her attention is focused on a teal colored glass. Might there be jewels lurking in the cracks of habits and emotions created long ago?

Indeed I noticed feelings of not belonging, not being good enough and an inner need to be outwardly validated lurking on the canvas bottom. These constructs continue to affect my present, yet the painting showed me that now there was an opportunity to quit tormenting myself.

I saw that although I couldn’t pinpoint the genesis of the pain; it was rooted in the past and it was time to let it go.

Meditating and painting meditatively allowed me to see the essence of the pain and have the courage to transform it. July 9th and July 29th are dates that speak to me of generational pain and of allowing crumbling structures to naturally become the fertile soil for new growth.

In the silence I can always reach my heart center, hear my true voice and find the freedom of forgiveness.

Creating allows me to connect with the consciousness that is and in experiencing this bond, I trust. I feel love, joy, abundance and total acceptance. When I paint, I dwell in the state of grace where delight abounds. This feeling continues as I sit in front of the art to write about it and pick a title.

May I tempt you to get the art; original or blessed prints, sit with it and adventurously explore your old pain?

From this narrative you can see that, if allowed to crumble, it will invite in the spiritual and emotional evolution to help you become a bright beacon of Love in the world.

The art is also intended as an object of beauty, delight and joy. Get July 9th now!

Leave a Reply

